Sharing my vision with the World

Ceraunus Blue

At first glance I was not sure what type of butterfly this was. When I looked it up, a tear came to my eyes because it appears to be a Miami Blue Butterfly. In April of this year, Miami Blues were put on the endangered species list. I have contacted the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to inquire and confirm. The USFWS has confirmed that it is not a Miami Blue, it is a Ceraunus Blue. The USFWS was kind enough to provide a key of the differences and traits of similar butterflies in Florida. If you are interested, I have attached for your review. Thanks for stopping by and viewing!

Here is a short video about the Miami Blue Butterfly.  It is worth the few minutes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

