Sharing my vision with the World

Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

The theme for this Week’s Photo Challenge is:  Urban.  My husband and I just moved to Lakeland, Florida in March after living in Tampa, Florida for the past 9 years.  We are both originally from the lovely State of Maine.  I already love Lakeland.  Although, it is a bigger town/city, downtown isn’t that big compared to the Tampa Bay area.  From what I have seen so far, downtown Lakeland, has both its busy and serene moments.  I hope you enjoy my vision of this Week’s Photo Challenge:  Urban.  To check out the Daily Post or to enter an entry of your own, click here.

Cafe Downtown Lakeland.

Polk Theatre

Kentucky Ave

Harry’s Seafood Bar and Grille

Check out additional entries below:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Zeebra Designs & Destinations
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban–Calm before the storm! | Simply Charming
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban (NYC) « warmhotchocolate
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Even A Girl Like Me
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Ruth E Hendricks Photography
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Adventures We Seek
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « The Hoppy Mommy Bunny
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge : Urban « Try 2B cool ‘n smart…
  9. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Julia’s Place
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | travels with toby
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban «
  12. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | mothergrogan
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge: URBAN | 撮影部
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Life and Ink
  15. splash « yi-ching lin photography
  16. Weekly photo challenge: Urban | Anotherdayinparadise2’s Blog
  17. Urban living, urban cities, urbanisation « MindBlur
  18. Las terrazas se disfrutan en verano – People enjoying summer in the streets (Urban: WordPress.com Post a Week 2012 #postaday) « Dario Alvarez, Fotógrafo 2.0
  19. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Haecceity
  20. Weekly photo challenge: Urban « Alice through the Macro Lens
  21. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « I did it … for Johnny
  22. this is as urban as it gets « joyfulwise
  23. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Portugal in Pictures
  24. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Untitled Adventure
  25. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban – Spokane – Going Home | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity
  26. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | travellersoul76
  27. The Nature of Urban « elspethc
  28. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « GrayPencil
  29. How to Join the Run Against Stroke 2012 | Lesson Plan of a Comatose Teacher
  30. Weekly photo challenge: urban « and also, dogs
  31. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | quite simply…
  32. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | artistisk
  33. Weekly Photo Challenge – Urban « a weirder fetish
  34. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « weird & cool stuff seen while out & about
  35. game on « yi-ching lin photography
  36. Weekly Photo Challenge – Urban | Just Sara
  37. Weekly Photo Challenge – Urban | Min lite av varje
  38. Balanava! Look! There, in the distance … « The Wanderlust Gene
  39. Weekly Photo Challenge: URBAN (Urban Dwellers) « A drifter off to see the world
  40. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Mike Hardisty Photography
  41. A picture a day… #1 « prodigalmomma
  42. Urban Photography Challenge on WordPress « Terence S Jones – a guy with a camera
  43. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Sin Polaris
  44. Weekly Photo Challenge: URBAN (Steel and Glass) « Pictures in living color
  45. Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Mae East
  46. Weekly Photo Challenge – Urban life in Singapore « Janet’s Notebook
  47. Weekly photo challenge: Urban « Wednesday Night Knitting
  48. WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: URBAN « Francine In Retirement

 

17 responses

  1. Great post and shots!

    August 27, 2012 at 8:27 PM

    • Thanks so much!

      August 27, 2012 at 8:50 PM

  2. great series of shots, that old theater looks like a great photo op!

    August 28, 2012 at 11:14 AM

    • Thanks so much!!

      August 28, 2012 at 12:31 PM

  3. love the first shot…so befitting for the theme!

    August 28, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    • Thanks so much!!!

      August 28, 2012 at 12:31 PM

  4. My memories of Florida are Busch Garden, Sea World and beaches. This one looks like a charming little town which I’m sure is as rewarding, if not even better.

    August 28, 2012 at 3:20 PM

    • Yes, the more I explore the more I love! 😃. Thanks so much for your comment!

      August 28, 2012 at 5:55 PM

  5. Photo #1 Your husband, right?

    August 29, 2012 at 3:46 AM

    • Hi there. No this was a random shot and the gentleman in the picture is unknown to me. Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by.

      August 29, 2012 at 6:15 AM

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : “Urban” – caught in the fringes of ‘Urban’ India « Just another wake-up call

  7. I really like you Fresco’s! The perspective and composition. I would hang this picture on my wall!

    September 2, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    • Thank you so much Cedric! Wow, what a beautiful compliment. I am working on getting a website up to sell some of my work. 🙂 Guess I better hurry 😉

      September 2, 2012 at 11:31 AM

  8. Thanks for the like on my Weekly Photo Challenge – Urban

    September 2, 2012 at 11:55 AM

  9. The cafe shot in b/w really works…nice pic

    September 2, 2012 at 5:48 PM

  10. The Fresco’s shot is really, really nice. I bet you’ll be taking more of the Polk – it’s great it’s still there. What a change – Maine/Florida – wow! Looking on the map, I see Lakeland is inland – I spent some time wandering around the Fort Myers area & inland form there, and found it fascinating. Recently I moved from NYC to the Seattle area – so much to explore. That’s what I was doing when I took my Urban Challenge picture, and thanks for the like. Looking forward to seeing what else you turn up!

    September 3, 2012 at 1:36 PM

    • Thanks so much Lynn. I miss my home State of Maine but I must admit that Florida is starting to grow on me. That tends to happen when you let go a bit and open your eyes to all of the beauty that surrounds you. I lived in Maine for about 19 years total and been in Florida for 16 years. I have always wanted to visit Seattle! I can see by some of your posts that you are enjoying the culture out there. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      September 3, 2012 at 3:51 PM

Leave a Reply

